What kept the owl quiet these past four weeks? Why were there no bits and pieces of linguistic weirdness occasionally scattering across your screen?

ngenxa yomsebenzi-nje. because of work. 

Which is a good thing. 

uMasingana, the isiZulu name for this month, relates to the verb singa, meaning ‘to look about, to peer out of a burrow, to search for something’ – it’s the month when you poke your head out of the ruins of the previous year, and scout around for things to make ends meet. 

It’s particularly apt looking back at this January, as I took my first step into leading a linguistically focused life – although it involved slightly more than just a look around!

I now have 11 private clients, and 1 corporate – all wanting to learn isiZulu, with 34 people in total. 34 new isiZulu-speakers, enjoying their first tastes of the language of Heaven.

I also did some interesting translation this past month – although I was sceptical at first, since it was a course handbook on occupational health and safety for a major retail chain, I quickly realised that there was great scope for using some of my favourite parts of ulimi lukaPhunga noMageba. 

I managed to sneak in the verb derived from my favourite ideophone (wolokohlela, from the ideophone wólokohlo, denoting a large object falling from a great height with a clatter), and discovered that, ngesiZulu, there’s an ideophone denoting mass production: ukuthi khíqi. 

I stayed up until the early hours of many mornings, accompanied by my imiphaka and the izikhova (though, luckily, no otokoloshe or imikhovu), translating and recording and stretching my brain into obscure corners of grammar and syntax.

And I started on two very important documents – a textbook for teaching isiZulu (at school level, and to adults), and an adaptation and extension of the story of uSikhulumi kaHlokohloko . 🙂

So the owl has been industrious, but in so doing he has forgotten this online space. 

Sengibuyile-ke.